Discover the World of Tea: An Exploration of the Six Main Types and How They're Made

Discover the World of Tea: An Exploration of the Six Main Types and How They're Made

Tea is a popular beverage enjoyed around the world, and it comes in many different varieties. The six main types of tea are white, green, oolong, black, dark (also known as puerh or pu-erh), and yellow.

White Tea

White tea is made from the buds and leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant, which is the same plant used to make all other types of tea. It is the least processed of all the tea types, with the leaves being simply plucked and allowed to wilt and dry in the sun. White tea has a delicate flavor and is known for its health benefits, such as being high in antioxidants and helping to lower blood pressure.

Shop white teas

Green Tea

Green tea is made from the leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant, which are quickly steamed or pan-fired to stop oxidation and preserve the green color and fresh flavor. It is considered to be one of the healthiest teas, as it is high in antioxidants and has been shown to help with weight loss, decrease the risk of heart disease and cancer, and lower blood sugar levels.

Shop green teas

Oolong Tea

Oolong tea is semi-oxidized, meaning it falls between green and black teas in terms of processing. The leaves are withered in the sun and then bruised, which causes partial oxidation. This results in a tea with a complex flavor and aroma, and it has a wide range of health benefits, including weight loss, reducing stress, and improving heart health.

Shop oolong teas

Black Tea

Black tea is fully oxidized, which gives it its dark color and strong flavor. The leaves are withered and then rolled to release the enzymes that cause oxidation. Black tea is the most popular type of tea in the world, and it has been shown to improve heart health, lower blood pressure, and boost the immune system.

Shop black teas

Puerh Tea

Dark tea, also known as puerh or pu-erh, is made from fermented and aged leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant. It is typically produced in the Yunnan province of China and is known for its unique earthy and musty flavor. Dark tea has been traditionally used to improve digestion and promote weight loss.

Shop puerh teas

Yellow Tea

Yellow tea is a rare and expensive type of tea, similar to green tea but with a longer oxidation process. The leaves are wilted, lightly oxidized, and then slow-roasted to develop a unique flavor and aroma. Yellow tea is known for its high levels of antioxidants and its ability to improve heart health.

Understanding the different types of tea, how they are made and their unique flavor profiles can help you find the perfect tea for any occasion. Whether you prefer a strong and robust black tea, a fresh and grassy green tea or a delicate and subtle white tea, there is something for everyone. So next time you're sipping on a cup of tea, take a moment to appreciate the complexity and diversity of this beloved beverage.

Older post Newer post